Arlene Gottesman, principal of Darien High School, announced 31 students were named Commended Students in the 2013 National Merit Scholarship Program:

Alexandra Aparicio; William Ardery; Caroline Ashcraft; James Baker; Henry Baldwin; Joseph Berkowitz; Christopher Brophy; Sarah Colon; Andrew Farley; Kaitlin Farren; Caroline Golino; Emily Greene; Christopher Hecq; Kelly Kosnik; Joseph Kunetz; Isabel Lee; Gregory Lesko; Stephen Mageras; Kylie Maier; Kelly Manhart; Andrew Martzolf; Alison McGarey; Liam Naughton; Elizabeth Nelson; Christopher Pierce; Jeffrey Sload; Claire Treesh; Claire Walker; Jacqueline Winsch; Alec Wolyniec; and Cameron Wong.

More Information

Fact box

Gottesman will present the students with a letter of commendation from the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC), which conducts the program.

Approximately 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise. Although they will not continue in the 2013 competition for Merit Scholarship awards, Commended Students placed among the top 5 percent of more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2013 competition by taking the 2011 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT).

Five Darien High School students have been named National Merit semi-finalists: Caroline Congdon; Jonathan Gill; Katherine McKay; Reed Morgan; and Andrew Xiong. Approximately 16,000 students nationwide have been recognized as National Merit Semi-Finalists. These students will continue in the National Merit program and will be candidates to receive a scholarship from the program.