Brian Williams, NBC Nightly News anchor, will headline the New Canaan Library's annual Richard Salant Lecture on Sunday, Nov. 18, at 6 p.m. in the New Canaan High School auditorium.

Williams, who also is managing editor of NBC Nightly News and the primetime newsmagazine "Rock Center" with Brian Williams, will act as moderator as he hosts a panel comprised of top figures in the news world. Panelists will include David Gergen, CNN political analyst; Peter Goldmark, advocate for social causes; and Joe Scarborough, host of MSNBC's "Morning Joe."

Williams and the panel will examine the 2012 presidential election in retrospect, looking at both the outcome and implications for the future.

Williams took over as anchor and managing editor of NBC Nightly News in 2004. He has received 11 Edward R. Murrow Awards, 12 Emmy Awards, the duPont-Columbia University Award, the Walter Cronkite Award for Excellence in Journalism and the George Foster Peabody Award. Time magazine named him one of the 100 most influential people in the world.

Gergen is a senior political analyst for CNN and has served as an adviser to four U.S. presidents: Richard Nixon, Gerald Ford, Ronald Reagan and Bill Clinton. .

More Information

Fact box

Goldmark is an environmentalist and advocate for social causes who has led environmental, news media, philanthropic and governmental organizations.

Scarborough is the host of MSNBC's "Morning Joe." Previously, he hosted "Scarborough Country" on MSNBC, a primetime news show.

The Richard Salant Lecture and the library's Richard Salant Room are named for the late president of CBS news, whose tenure in the 1960s and 1970s included the news challenges of the Vietnam War and Watergate. Salant lived in New Canaan for 37 years prior to his death in 1993. The library honors his dedication to integrity in broadcast journalism and the First Amendment with this annual lecture series. Earlier Salant lecturers have included Walter Cronkite, Mike Wallace, Andy Rooney, Charles Osgood, Lesley Stahl, Brian Williams, Bob Schieffer, Connie Chung, Cokie Roberts, Tom Brokaw, Sean McManus and Roger Goodman.

For information, call Susan LaPerla at 203-594-5007 or visit The program is free, but registration is required. Visit or call 203-594-5040.