The Republican Town Committee sat through three-and-a-half hours of candidate interviews to determine who they would endorse for the upcoming caucus.

The Board of Education, Board of Finance and the RTC are seeking candidates to fill vacancies as the current members' terms expire, or in the case of the RTC, members resign.

BOE members Morgan Whittier, Heather Shea and Chairman Kim Westcott are up for re-election. Westcott has previously stated her intention not to seek a re-election bid after having served for nine years.

The BOF members up for re-election are Chairman Elizabeth Mao and board members Gwen Mogenson and Murray Stegelmann.

The RTC is looking to fill positions vacated by Chairman Harry Artinian, Treasurer Joi Reiner Gallo and members James Rickards and Victoria Smith. Last week Artinian issued a press release stating the retiring members chose to leave as a result of changes in their professional and personal lives.

During Wednesday's interviews, each candidate was given about 15 minutes to discuss their qualifications and explain why they wanted to serve in the capacity they chose.

RTC members then had the opportunity to ask any questions the candidates didn't address.

After the interviews concluded, the RTC voted to go into executive session to deliberate on which candidates would receive endorsements.

The RTC is endorsing the following candidates:

First Selectman -- Jayme Stevenson;

Selectmen -- David Campbell and Gerald Nielsen;

Town Clerk -- Donna Rajczewski;

Town Treasure -- Joan Hendrickson;

Tax Collector -- Robert Locke;

Board of Finance -- Elizabeth Mao and James McLaughlin;

Board of Education -- Michael Harman and Morgan Whittier;

Board of Assessment Appeals -- Richard Dolcetti;

Planning & Zoning Commission -- Susan Cameron and Reese Hutchison;

Constable -- Joseph Tarnowksy Jr. and Louis Calastro;

Candidates who were not endorsed may still petition to be on the ballot by collecting 25 signatures from registered Republican voters by July 15.

The Republican caucus is scheduled for July 21.