Seven Darien High School seniors have been named finalists in the 2014 National Merit Scholarship Program, according to Ellen Dunn, principal.

They are John Foley, Nicole Gagne, Kelly Karczewski, Catherine Lacy, Andrew Morgan, Daniel Murphy Jr. and Cameron Van de Graaf.

The selection of approximately 8,000 National Merit Scholarship winners from the group of more than 15,000 finalists is now in progress; the scholarship winners will be notified in March. The scholarships are worth about $35 million.

To become a finalist, the students and their high school submitted a detailed scholarship application, in which they provided information about their academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment, and honors and awards received.

Three types of scholarships will be offered. Every finalist will compete for one of 2,500 National Merit $2,500 scholarships that will be awarded on a state representational basis. About 1,000 corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards will be provided by approximately 240 corporations and business organizations.

More Information

Fact box